Governing Council

The Governing Council serves as the governing body of Organic Farmers Association.  Each region is represented by two certified organic farmers and one regional organic farm organization.  Members are elected by OFA farm-members and serve 2-year terms, up to three consecutive terms.  Only our certified organic farm members on the Governing Council have voting rights, while the organization representative serve an important advisory role.

Farmers – Voting

California Farmer Representatives
Ken Kimes, Farmer
Greensward/New Natives, LLC, Aptos, CA

Sara Tashker, Farmer
Green Gulch Farm, Muir Beach, CA

Midwest Region Farmer Representatives
Dave Bishop, Farmer
PrairiErth Farm, Atlanta, IL

Dave Campbell, Farmer
Lily Lake Organic Farm, Maple Park, IL

North Central Region Farmer Representatives
Kevin Fulton, Farmer
Clear Creek Land & Livestock, Litchfield, NE

Harriet Behar, Farmer
Sweet Springs Farm, Spring Valley, WI

Western Region Farmer Representatives
Linley Dixon, Farmer
Adobe House Farm, Durango, CO

Marcia Litsinger, Farmer
Churchill Butte Organics, Silver Springs, NV

Southern Region Farmer Representatives
Jennifer Taylor, Farmer
Lola’s Organic Farm, Glenwood, GA

Shawn Peebles, Farmer
Shawn Peebles Organic Farm LLC, Augusta, AR

Northeast Region Farmer Representatives
David Colson, Farmer
New Leaf Farm, Durham, ME

Eve Kaplan-Walbrecht, Farmer
Garden of Eve Organic Farm & Market, Riverhead, NY

Advisory – Non-Voting

California Organization Representative
Phil LaRocca, Chair
California Certified Organic Farmers (CCOF)

Midwest Region Organization Representative
Amalie Lipsteu, Policy Director
Ohio Ecological Food and Farm Association (OEFFA)

North Central Region Organization Representative
Lori Stern, Executive Director
Marbleseed (formerly MOSES)

Western Region Organization Representative
Ben Bowell, Education and Advocacy Manager
Oregon Tilth

Southern Region Organization Representative
Brooke Gentile, Executive Director
Organic Association of Kentucky (OAK)

Northeast Region Organization Representative
Ed Maltby, Executive Director
Northeast Organic Dairy Producers Alliance (NODPA)

Sponsor Seat
Sam Hilbourn
Rodale Institute

Become an OFA Leader